Bragging isn’t ALWAYS a bad thing!

I have to admit that though my children have the ability to make me want to pull my hair out several times a day, I truly love them to bits and pieces.  And if you are a facebooker, you’ve noticed that I OFTEN post pictures of my little rascals.  It’s true.  I am a proud Mommy and I am their #1 FAN.  You may not have a pet or kids or a husband to brag about, but for those of us who call God our heavenly Father and Jesus our Savior, we definitely have Someone to brag about!  Read on and see what I mean…

God in Your Brag Book

Read:  Psalm 145:1-21

Related Readings:  Deuteronomy 6:1-9; Psalm 105:1-5; Philippians 4:4-9 

Whom do you brag about?  Do your friends hear about your brilliant daughter, your generous sister, your adorable puppy?  Have you in turn seen every photo of a friend’s grandchild, heard about every new word, every tooth and every step?

How often do you brag about God?  People in your life need to hear from you about Him – your children, your nieces and nephews, godchildren, neighborhood kids, everyone.  They will someday have their own stories of how their prayers were answered.  They will learn about God’s faithfulness as they go through hard times.  God will bless them with delightful surprises.  They will experience God’s mercy and tenderness for themselves.  But until they have their own stories, they need to hear yours.  Your stories will “prime the pump” as it were and alert them to watch for God as they “live and move and have [their] being” in Him (Acts 17:28).

Scripture tells us that God is gracious and compassionate, patient and merciful.  King David knew this from his own experience.  God protected him from many who would have killed him, including his own king and father-in-law, King Saul, and later his son Absalom, who wanted to be king himself.  David knew God as the only King who is always righteous.  David also knew God as the One who forgives, who washes away devastating sins instead of killing the sinner.  David knew God in a surprisingly intimate way.  The shepherd knew God as his Shepherd.  The king called God his own King.

It’s easy to complain about inefficient checkout clerks, dangerous drivers and ungrateful relatives.  It’s natural to tell our stories of financial hardship and illness and slights from our friends.  It’s great to have funny stories to tell about what has happened to us.  But it’s so much sweeter and deeper to bless others with stories about the good things, the true things, the beautiful and enduring things that we’ve experienced with God.  It’s so rewarding to look for opportunities to praise God and to remember how He has been good to us.  It’s so wonderfully fun to brag about God.

Reflection:

1)  Why do you think David spent so much time praising God?

2)  What special reasons do you have to praise God?

3)  How can you brag about God to someone today?

—–

I’m guilty of bragging about my kids more than God so I am first to receive this!  God bless you as you go out and brag about what God has done in your life!  It just might be the testimony someone needs today!

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by bobicrisan on August 30, 2012 - 11:00 pm

    ahh,.. this struck home. God has and continues to do so much for me and mine and I so rarely brag about his work. I used to be a lot better at this but somehow without any awareness really I’ve begun to put my kids and family in the forefront of my concentration. I truly want to rectify that. Thank you for posting this.

    • #2 by jennycantu on September 2, 2012 - 10:42 pm

      I also appreciated reading this devotion because I know I need to do more of it as well. Family, and children especially, require a great amount of our time and attention. I am glad it served as a gentle reminder to pick up where you left off. And if you don’t mind, I’d like to hear what God is doing in your life next time I see you. 🙂

  2. #3 by Francesca on August 31, 2012 - 12:29 am

    “Who is like You among the gods, O LORD?
    Who is like You, majestic in holiness,
    Awesome in praises, working wonders? “Ex 15:11

    Yes, this is my brag of the day and each day
    so, help me God!

Leave a Reply

