Just in Time!

If I look back just over the last decade of my life, there are numerous instances where I can attest to how God has come through for me.  And He came JUST IN TIME.  A short time ago, I picked up a devotional book I received from a dear friend a couple of years ago.  In his book, Grace for the Moment, Max Lucado writes a very brief introduction about God’s timeliness.  It made me smile as I sat there remembering the many moments of joy and relief following His timely rescues.

The following is an excerpt from the Preface in his devotional book:

When I travel with my kids, I keep all the tickets in a satchel.  When the time comes to board the plane or train, I stand between the attendant and the child.  As each child passes, I place a ticket in her hand.  She in turn gives the ticket to the attendant.

God does the same.  He stands between us and our need, waiting to help us.  For that reason the Bible says, “Let us boldly approach the throne of our gracious God, where we may receive mercy and His grace to find timely help” (Heb. 4:16 NEB).

Did you note those last two words?  “Timely help.”  Not too soon, nor too late.  Just on time.

Just as it’s my job to make sure my children have what they need, God will make sure you have what you need.  From His hand you will receive, “Timely help.”

—– 

When I moved back to Portland from Arizona in October 2008 just after graduating from x-ray school, I was constantly on the hunt for an X-ray job.  When I saw that I wasn’t having any success, I was prepared to put aside my hard-earned degree and submit my resume for almost anything in the health care field:  Front desk receptionist.  Administrative assistant.  Secretary.  Just about anything that required little to no experience.  I was modifying my resume constantly so that it would be specific to the respective job I was applying for.  It was very tiring and it didn’t take long before discouragement began to build.  I landed an interview in January 2009 for an x-ray technologist position at a nearby neighborhood clinic, but for whatever reason, it didn’t work out.  However, that chance at an interview was just the boost I needed to keep me motivated and continue my job search.  After all, I was convinced God had something better in mind. 

Spring was quickly approaching and I started becoming a little nervous.  We would need to start making payments (which was a generous chunk of change) toward my school loan once May rolled around and after just buying our house in October, our income was about to be stretched thin.  I received a call in late April from Kaiser Permanente offering me an interview for a weekend x-ray technologist position in Beaverton.  At that time, it didn’t matter what shift I took if it meant I could get my foot in the door.  Shortly after that interview, just the second one since I began looking for work, I was offered the job.  Praise the Lord!!!  Not only was I offered an x-ray job where I could put my degree to use, but I would be paid $6 more an hour than the job I had interviewed for in January!  And to top it all off, I would be starting May 4th!  I honestly couldn’t believe it.  The Lord knew our need and He showed up…JUST IN TIME. 

I have several stories about how He came to the rescue just when I needed Him.  And I’m sure there are many more that you could share of His never-ending faithfulness.  I believe He waits until what we might call “the last-minute” so that we are reminded that it wasn’t because of what we did or who we are, but because of who He is.  

If you are waiting for a breakthrough in your finances, a letter of approval from a desirable college or university, a supernatural healing in your physical body, whatever care that you might have, I am 100% confident that “My God shall supply all your need…” (Philippians 4:19) and He will provide JUST IN TIME.

Praying His timely blessings over you!

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Francesca on September 3, 2012 - 8:03 pm

    “Many are the plans in a person’s heart,
    but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.” Prov 19:21
    His plan, His purpose, His time is always the best, indeed !

    • #2 by jennycantu on September 4, 2012 - 1:10 am

      It’s not always easy, but yes, His ways are higher than ours!

Leave a Reply

