A Symbol of Hope

Last week, I was asked by my childhood friend, Lavi Ianos, to read a short devotional she had written to encourage a group of gals in her women’s prayer group during their season of singleness.  (If you are not single, don’t be quick to overlook this testimony.  There is still a lesson to be learned).  Lavi is single, in her late twenties, and has been very involved with the youth group at her church while serving on the youth board for the past several years.  I loved what she wrote so much that I asked for her permission to share it with you today.  Here is what Lavi wrote:

So I have a true confession… I bought a tiara. Yes, a mini-crown! I know that’s not much of a confession until you understand my reason for buying it. About five years ago, I was young and naive. I thought that someday soon my prince will come and I want to wear a tiara when we get married. I hunted online for the perfect tiara and bought it right away to be prepared for my quick and upcoming wedding day. That tiara seems silly to me now, but at the time it symbolized hope and faith that my future was in God’s hands and that He was going to bring me a husband.

Unfortunately, about two years ago, I went through what I call a “wilderness” in my walk with God. My faith was shattered and along with that went my hope that God would bring someone special in my life. So I boxed up my tiara and hid it under my bed because I didn’t want a reminder of the hope that I once had.

About a month ago, I was going through my boxes and I saw the tiara and thought about why I bought it. I began to question where my hope went and wondered if I still trusted God to bless me with a husband. Truthfully, I think giving God control of my future and my heart in the matter of finding love has been one of the hardest things for me since coming out of the wilderness. It’s been a struggle to restore my faith in hoping to meet my prince, BUT God reminds me daily that He is trustworthy and that I also need to leave this part of my life in His capable hands.

After this revelation, I decided that the tiara needs to come out of hiding and is now displayed on my dresser.  I can see it everyday and remember that God will take care of this part of my life also.

So where is your faith?  Is it hiding under the bed or out on display for all to see?

—–

I am so blessed by Lavi’s transparent heart.  Singleness can be a sensitive subject for certain people and I’m so thankful that she was willing to share her testimony with her prayer group… and now with you.  Whether you are single or married, working or unemployed, serving on the worship team or sipping on coffee out in the foyer, none of us are exempt from the testing of our faith.  Like Lavi, choose to renew your commitment to the Lord and to His timing in your special circumstance.   Stay strong in your faith and seek His kingdom first.  The Bible promises that when you do, God will provide exactly what you need (Matthew 6:33).

Many blessings to you!

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Emma on September 5, 2012 - 12:07 am

    LOvED Lavi’s honest heart through the story. Putting your full trust in God can really be a hard thing at any spiritual level when we put value on an outcome that is out of our control. The tiara was a perfect symbol of how God sees his daughters, single & taken. Thanks for this 🙂

    • #2 by jennycantu on September 6, 2012 - 12:38 am

      So true, Emma! Picture this: putting God right next to the “potential outcome” in question. With Him standing right there, you can be sure it’s a win-win situation. Nothing else can alter it without His allowing it. Hope that makes sense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

