Clutter galore!

Like peanut butter and jelly, spring and cleaning are a heavenly combination.  Yes, spring is long gone, but it’s never too late to do some much needed deep cleaning.  I recently emptied out my Yahoo! inbox of excessive junk mail I didn’t want or have to keep – anything from business advertisements to bank statement summaries to offers for free Wal-Mart gift cards.  (How did Wal-Mart get my email address anyway?!)  I don’t know about you but I CANNOT stand clutter!  What’s interesting is that it wasn’t occupying any physical space; email is just a part of the virtual world.  But just the thought of knowing that I had mounds of junk email in my inbox was enough to irritate me.  If I would need to go back and refer to a message, it would take extra time to sort through the other unnecessary ones until I finally found what I was looking for.  Maybe it’s my OCD, but I couldn’t wait to be rid of it and have a clutter free inbox again.

I was searching through the Bible and found a well-known verse that I hope might spark a movement for each of us to personally do some spring cleaning in our hearts today –

Psalm 51:10:  “Create in me a clean heart, O God.  Renew a right spirit within me.”

Even though you don’t physically see the junk in your heart, what do you know is there that needs to be removed?  Would you find deceit?  Greed?  Envy?  Maybe pride?  If sin fills our hearts, it will be more difficult to find room for peace, love, joy, and forgiveness.  Let us all sincerely pray Psalm 51:10, asking God to forgive us of our offenses, cleansing us of all unrighteousness, and transforming our hearts into steadfast and pure ones.  Then we will have room to store His truths and commandments (Psalm 119:11), which give us life (Psalm 119:50).

God bless you!

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by lexiesnana on September 6, 2012 - 9:55 am

    I am the same way with everything I even hate it and have to go through our taping of programs on the television.Thanks for reminding me that junk has no place in my heart or my mind.God Bless

    • #2 by jennycantu on September 12, 2012 - 10:43 pm

      It’s like junk food…not healthy for our spirits. Thanks for sharing! Blessings!

  2. #3 by Francesca on September 8, 2012 - 11:53 pm

    So true it is !
    I’m working on it and I ask the Holy Spirit to fill up the “available”
    space with His gifts.

  3. #4 by zaleout, shopping, onlineshop, Gunpla, Gundam, bandai, playgundam, modeltoy on September 12, 2012 - 6:57 am

    I don’t even know the way I finished up here, however I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you’re but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger in the event you aren’t already. Cheers!

  4. #5 by jennycantu on September 12, 2012 - 10:44 pm

    Amen! Lord, help us!

Leave a Reply

