Start today!

I recall performing an exam on a lady last year when I was still working part-time as an x-ray technologist.  While we were talking and getting to know one another, she told me that her husband is 25 years her senior and that she is his full-time caregiver.  It was so sweet to listen to this fragile lady speak so highly of her husband, whose strength and physical activity was quickly dwindling.  She, however, didn’t offer a single notion that he was a burden or that she was exhausted.  It was clear to me that she thought the world of him.  And it caused me to think about my relationship with my husband, David.

If you know me well at all, I am not a fan of cooking.  It is not one of my talents and because it doesn’t come natural to me, I have to consciously work at it.  Add to that my little babies zooming into the kitchen and rummaging through the drawers and cabinets and my concentration is easily disrupted.  If I burn my hand on a pan or slit my skin with a knife, forget it.  I’d rather keep away and stick to doing laundry and cleaning the bathrooms.  Thankfully, my husband is my complement; we are a team.  He loves eating good food, watching the competition between a number of great chefs on television, and (Praise the Lord!) cooking in his own little domain.  But my conversation with this lady tested my attitude toward cooking, and everything else.  I thought about this woman “caring for her husband.”  And then I thought about “cooking for my husband.”  Though I find cooking to be a challenging and tedious chore, I will eventually have to learn how to cook anyway.  If, God forbid, David were to go on to meet the Lord before I do, or his physical condition took a turn for the worse and limited his physical abilities, I would be responsible for preparing meals for my family.

Please bear with me as I’m sure you’re wondering how this might apply to you. I figured if I am going to have to cook, I might as well start now and do so because I care for and love my family so much.  My husband could use a break from meal preparations and enjoy a well cooked meal fixed by his wife instead. Why wait until he may no longer be able to?

Psalm 39:4 NLT – “Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered – how fleeting my life is.”

“Life is short no matter how long we live. If there is something important we want to do, we must not put it off for a better day. Ask yourself, “If I had only six months to live, what would I do?” Tell someone that you love him or her? Deal with an undisciplined area in your life? Tell someone about Jesus? Because life is short, don’t neglect what is truly important” (YouVersion).

So this is my thought for you today: Do something you normally would postpone because it is convenient to wait. Been wanting to run around the block to catch some fresh air and get a good sweat? Today’s a great day for it and a step toward improving your health. Had an argument with your dad recently and are giving him the cold shoulder? Genuinely tell him you’re sorry and that you really love him.  Do you have a closet full of items you have been meaning to clear out?  Pull them out of your closet and donate it to a local homeless shelter.  Whatever you do, don’t procrastinate.

Do you want to know what I did today? I cooked chicken noodle soup and made egg salad sandwiches for lunch for my family today.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by emma on September 21, 2012 - 2:15 am

    this was so beautiful it made me cry Jenny!

Leave a Reply

