Hugo’s Story (Part 1)

I have been offered advice on what to showcase on my blog or what information to share and what would be best to omit.  “Be sensible,” I’ve been told.  “Write on subjects you are comfortable with and are knowledgeable about,” said another.  I have even asked myself what am I passionate about?

While I determined that this blog would provide encouraging “devotionals” as most Christians refer to them, it is not difficult to see that my family’s DNA is engrained throughout each post.  When I was working on customizing an online photo book over the latter part of the summer, I looked up quotes about family and children to sprinkle throughout the pages of the album.  I came across this remarkable quote by Angela Schwindt:  “While we try to teach our children all about life, our children teach us what life is all about.”  That statement is true.  I never knew just how much my family would change my life.  I feel like I have learned so many things in the last six years since I became a wife and then a mother.  They are my life coach and with the help of the Holy Spirit, the reason I better understand God’s love for me and the rest of humanity.

Each of us has a story to tell.  Your story is different from mine, but even if we are not experiencing the same obstacles and even triumphs, perhaps you can gain some insight from a perspective other than your own.  This section of my blog will be less of a bible reading and more of a story… Hugo’s story.

I don’t even know where to begin when I think about the last two and half years, just a little under half of Hugo’s young life.  I didn’t think I would even be able to share his story in this way until recently.  Then again, I never saw myself quitting my job to stay at home with my kids either (I may elaborate on this portion another time).  I do know my children though and strongly want them to grow to know the Lord and learn to follow His example.  I love each of them the same because they all are God’s gift to David and me, and yet differently because each is so unique.  One bears characteristics that the others do not and I appreciate each for how they contribute to our family and make us the Cantu family.  I also know about God’s grace and just how good He has been to my husband and me.  Even when we don’t deserve it.  It’s not because he or I did something right.  The Lord knows where I have failed miserably and disappointed Him over and over again.  And He still chooses to show me His grace and mercy, to love me as though I have never hurt Him or will ever again…even though He and I both know I will.  It’s the nature of being human.  We will always make mistakes.

When I think of His blessings, I don’t think about material possessions and wealth.  You could walk into my home and see that the my windows are plain without any decorative curtains to dress them up (but you may find a few holes poked through the screens here and there); just a few essential pieces for furniture throughout the house (less things for the kids to climb or run into help me stay sane); and a garage with just a single van to load up the kids and take them where life leads us.  Instead, I think about His faithfulness to see us through our lives until our very last breath.  He didn’t say it would be easy, but He did say, “I will be with you.”

As I’m writing this, I am thinking that I could go on and on in all different directions because there is so much to say.  I won’t be able to share about it all at once.  It will come in bits and pieces because I am dealing with it in the same way.  When a task seems too large for me and the end of the road is nowhere in sight, my thoughts are quickened to an old hymn I used to hear as a little girl that Mom would play on the cassette player from time to time:  “One day at a time, sweet Jesus…  That’s all I am asking from You.”  There isn’t a mathematical formula to determine what works and what doesn’t work when it comes to raising my children.  But add to that a curve ball, and things become a little more complicated.

(to be continued…)

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Francesca on October 3, 2012 - 6:33 pm

    Ps 51
    “15 O Lord, open my lips,
    and my mouth shall show forth Your praise.
    16 For You do not desire sacrifice, or else I would give it;
    You do not delight in burnt offering”.

    Just as king David, your testimony of God’s grace is a
    reminder to any one, what God can do !
    May the Holy Spirit work His way, for reader’s blessings.
    Thanks, Jenny !

  2. #2 by bobicrisan on October 13, 2012 - 8:04 am

    that song is one I often find myself singing especially when the days seem to be somewhat more challenging and singing that song calms me.

    • #3 by jennycantu on November 18, 2012 - 11:15 pm

      Definitely. I don’t even know who sang that song. I am surprised you recognize it cuz I have not heard it since I was a kid, but it has stuck with me all these years. Where did you hear it, Bobi?

Leave a Reply

