Facing My Giant

monogramI

was destined to meet face to face with “a giant,” an estranged relative of almost three years, in hopes of restoring communication and peace between one another and eventually, our families.  I was utterly surprised that she accepted my invitation and was willing to meet with me.  I don’t know for sure how David felt inside as he approached Goliath on that historic morning except that when he spoke, he did so with confidence and authority, knowing God was with him.I, on the other hand, felt significantly weaker on a sunny afternoon some weeks ago.  Shaky.  Sticky palms.  Sick to my stomach even.  But thank God for the strength He gives to the weary.

A short time before meeting with my so-called “Goliath,” I prayed and read a devotional from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young.  Thank you to my colleague and friend, Dale, for sharing this special book with me.  It helped give me the peace to keep calm and collected and the strength to put one foot in front of the other and make my way into the building.

* * * * *

  Trust Me by relinquishing control into My hands.  Let go, and recognize that I am God.  This is My world:  I made it and I control it.  Yours is a responsive part in the litany of Love.  I search among My  children for receptivity to Me.  Guard well this gift that I have planted in your heart.  Nurture it with the Light of my Presence.

photo credit - Jenny Cantu

photo credit – Jenny Cantu

  When you bring Me prayer requests, lay out your concerns before Me.  Speak to Me candidly; pour out your heart.  Then thank Me for the answers that I have set into motion long before you can discern results.  When your requests come to mind again, continue to thank Me for the answers that are on the way.  If you keep on stating your concerns to Me, you will live in a state of tension.  When you thank Me for how I am answering your prayers, your mind-set becomes much more positive.  Thankful prayers keep your focus on My Presence and My promises.

Psalm 46:10 (AMP); Colossians 4:2; 2 Peter 1:3-4

* * * * *

Despite my efforts for reconciliation that afternoon and since, I have not seen much of a change.  But I know One Who does see the outcome.  For now, He wants me to give up the battle over control, trust Him, and thank Him throughout.  His answer is on the way.

Is there a battle you foresee on the horizon?  Can you trust Him by surrendering your will and instead, when you pray, thank Him for the answer He is providing?  Peace will be the sweet result if you do.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

